2011 Summer Series - Race 3

Post date: Jun 13, 2011 1:29:51 AM

David Harris blitzes the field

The rain at last stayed away and the 2.3 km track at the pine forest was in peak condition for Monday's Summer Series mountain bike race. Fast times were recorded by many riders with personal bests in all divisions. Forty-five riders hit the track with many supporters cheering them on. Riders complete as many laps of the course in 35 min as they can.

The 6 pm men's race had 23 participants. The winner was David Harris. He (at last) put everything together in his race plan and blitzed the field to easily win. David rode six laps in a time of 39 min 21 sec. Second was the ever-improving young rider, Ben Brunckhorst. Ben rode 6 laps in 41:36. Third was pre-race favourite Peter Hosking who discovered that eating lasagne soon before a race does not help. Peter also rode six laps and finished in 42:36. Forth was Stephen Chapman who just missed out on riding six laps by finishing five laps in 35:01. Peter Harris was next with a time of 35:55 for his 5 laps.

In the 5.15 pm female and juniors race there was 22 riders. There was another great battle between Fiona Brunckhorst, Holly Harris and Jo Benham. Fiona repeated her victory from last week completing five laps in 39:09 with Holly only 1 second behind. Fiona and Holly are dominating the under 19 division. Jo was the winner of the Open Female division completing five laps in a time of 40:10. Second was Lisa Harris (4 laps in 37:34) with Marinda Teseling third (4 laps in 44:13). They were followed by Barb Hosking and Megan Wooster.

The 12 and under riders have the choice to ride the full track or a shortened track. The short-track race was won by Jordan Browning (7 laps in 38:44) with Hugh Fletcher second (6 laps in 36:32) and Oscar Lamb third (6 laps in 36:55). The Boys full-track race was won by Michael Harris (4 laps in 36:57). Zac Hooper was second (4 laps in 47:50) with Angus Gasparri third (3 laps in 37:10). The 12 and under girls were not to be out done in the full-track race with Kathryn Hosking winning that division (3 laps in 37:32). Second was Emily Wooster (2 laps in 25:08) with Bella Hosking third (2 laps in 26:19)