NEMTB Awards Night and AGM

Post date: Jul 22, 2012 12:15:29 PM

With the Mountain Biking Season lasting 12 months, the New England Mountain Bikers (NEMTB) have again held an awards night in conjunction with the Annual General Meeting. It was a great evening with a mix of business, fine food, serious awards and fun awards. One of the club’s long-term sponsors, Rafters of Guyra, put together a fantastic selection of foods.

The AGM was held first with the Board of the club being selected for the 2012/2013 year. Congratulations to: President Peter Hosking, Vice President Peter Harris, Secretary Michael Wooster and Treasurer Barbara Hosking. All of the other committee positions were also filled with enthusiastic people. The next 12 months should be very positive for the club with interest in all aspects of the sport increasing.

During the night there was a scrolling slideshow of hundreds of photos from the clubs activities to watch. It was a reminder of the variety of activities that have taken place.

After dinner the awards were presented. There was a wide selection of awards with the announcement of the Club Champion in each of 4 divisions one of the highlights. Congratulations to Peter Harris, Jo Benham, Michael Harris and Katherine Hosking who were top of the Club Champion pointscore. Other major award winners included Peter Hosking who was recognised for his mountain of work with the “Club Spirit” award. Congratulations too to Katherine Hosking for being named the Junior Rider of the Year.

Many people were acknowledged for their contribution to the club. This included the club sponsors whose support was invaluable over the past year. Many members worked hard building tracks and our region now has the best mountain bike trials around. Timing, publicity and event organisation are also areas that club members have put in huge volunteer hours.

Special mention was made of the achievements of Holly Harris and David Harris. Holly won the Under 19 Australian Cross Country Championships and is hence an Australian Champion! David won the All Mountain Cup Australian Series against very talented opposition.

Everyone at the club is looking forward to the next 12 months with many exciting events planned. Here are some of the major award winners for the 2011/2012 season.

Club Champion Men: Peter Harris

Club Champion Women: Jo Benham

Club Champion U15 Male (Sponsored by Howard Sparke): Michael Harris

Club Champion U15 Female (Sponsored by Ruth Sparke): Katherine Hosking

Club Spirit Award: Peter Hosking

Junior Rider of the Year (Sponsored by David and Lisa Harris): Katherine Hosking

Junior Encouragement Award: Hugh Munday

Best Crash Award: Holly Harris

Roadies Tendencies Award: David Harris

Most Bikes in a season: Greg Manttan

Weight Weenie: Greg Manttan

Summer Series 2012 winners

U15 girls: Katherine Hosking

U15 boys: Michael Harris

U19 Men: Ben Brunckhorst

Open Women: Lisa Harris

Elite Women: Jo Benham

Open Men: David Harris

Winter Series 2011 winners

U15 girls: Katherine Hosking

U15 boys: Michael Harris

Open Women: Nina Stone

U19 Women: Fiona Brunckhorst

Open Men: Peter Hosking

U19 Men: Ben Brunckhorst